The Xbox 360 is Microsoft’s Trojan Horse

There is a good chance that I’m a biased fanboy for Microsoft’s Xbox 360.  After all, I did stand in line when the console was released a couple of years ago, taking the day off of work to do so.  But regardless, with all the buzz about Nintendo Wii and Apple, I think people are missing the fact that Microsoft is slowing winning the war for the Living Room.  Their victory just became that much more apparent with their latest announcement with Netflix.  If you are a Xbox Live subscriber, you can now instantly get access to over 10,000 Netflix titles with the click of a button.  No more driving to your nearest Blockbuster.  No more walking to your mailbox for the latest Netflix title.  Now if you are one of the 10 million households that already own a Xbox 360, all you have to do is pick up your game controller and download the movie through Xbox Live & Netflix.  Welcome to the future.

4 Responses to The Xbox 360 is Microsoft’s Trojan Horse

  1. Bob G says:

    Yep, this is going to be incredible. A year ago I finished my basement and made the Xbox the hub of my entertainment. You’ve got the game system, CD player, DVD player, photo viewer, and the ability to stream mp3s from the home server or laptop.

    Xbox 360+Netflix is also a great way for consumers to “win’ the HD-DVD vs. Blu-ray war without having to invest in separate players and discs. Just pay the buck extra to download a High-Def version of the movie you want to watch.

  2. Dave Knox says:

    Bob – I did the same thing with my xbox. I actually went and bought a new computer to go along with it so that I had the Media Center OS as well. Talk about a double win for Microsoft. People like to count Microsoft out and give the tech crown to Apple or Google. I’m not going to bet against Ballmer though. After all, he was a P&G’er WAY back in the day!

  3. […] The Xbox 360 is Microsoft's Trojan Horse …and this is coming from a digital brand strategist from P&G! (tags: Xbox Microsoft P&G) […]

  4. I bookmarked your blog, thanks for sharing this very interesting post

Leave a comment